Slaton Texas Your Kind of Town

Go To Search
The City of Slaton
130 S. 9th St.
Slaton, TX 79364
Ph: (806) 828-2000
Fx: (806) 828-2002
Handling your Citation
Option One
Plead no contest or guilty and pay the fine. You may do this in person - appear on or before the date on your citation, pay the fine in full or request a payment plan by mail. Sign the waiver on reverse side of your citation, and mail ticket and payment by money order on or before the due date stated on your citation.

Option Two
Plead not guilty and request a trial. If you choose to plead not guilty, you or your attorney must turn in a plea and a request for trial by judge or jury by the due date of the citation. The court date and notice of the trial date will be sent out by the court.

Option Three
Request The Driving Safety Course in person on or before the due date on your ticket. You will be eligible for this option if you:
  • Have not had a defensive driving class in the previous 12 months
  • Have a valid Texas drivers license
  • Can show proof of liability insurance
  • Were not cited for:
    • Going more than 25 miles over the speed limit
    • Passing a school bus
    • Reckless driving
    • Fleeing or eluding a peace officer
    • Leaving the scene of an accident
    • Failing to render aid
    • Committing any other traffic offense while driving with a commercial driver’s license

Once the court has approved you for defensive driving, you must pay the $95 or ($120 if School Zone Violation) court costs, then you will have 90 days to complete the course.


Option Four
Take a Deferred Adjudication, where you must:
  • Pay the full amount of the citation
  • Not receive a moving violation for 60 days or the ticket will remain on your driving record
  • Sign an agreement for Deferred Adjudication and a plea form

Documents required
  • Copy of drivers license
  • Copy of insurance
  • Copy of driving record
  • Certificate of defensive driving (if taken)